Executive Director Rachel Riedner

Dr. Rachel Riedner is Associate Professor of Writing and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies and Executive Director of the University Writing Program at the George Washington University.

Faculty Directory


University Writing Faculty

Julie Donovan
Associate Professor of Writing 
Academic Bldg 204 | 202-242-6690 | juliedon@gwu.edu

Wade Fletcher
Teaching Assistant Professor of Writing 
Ames 236 | 202-242-5174 | wfletche@gwu.edu 

Sandie Friedman
Assistant Professor of Writing 
Ames 224 | 202-242-5366 | srf@gwu.edu

Cayo Gamber
Associate Professor of Writing and Women's Studies
Ames 232 | 202-242-5286 | cayo1@gwu.edu

Carol Hayes
Deputy Director, University Writing Center; Assistant Professor of Writing 
Ames 228 | 202-242-6520 | hayesc@gwu.edu

Katherine Howell
Adjunct Instructor of Writing
Ames 216 | 202-242-5173 | khowell@gwu.edu

Elizabeth Johnston
Adjunct Professor of Writing 
Ames 226 | 202-242-5176 | elizjohn@gwu.edu

Randi Kristensen
Assistant Professor of Writing 
Ames 231 | 202-242-5291 | rkris@gwu.edu

Katherine Larsen
Teaching Assistant Professor
Ames 223 | 202-242-5090 | klarsen@gwu.edu

Derek Malone-France
Associate Professor of Philosophy and of Religion
Rome 450 | 202-994-9069 | dmf@gwu.edu

Gordon Mantler
Director, Writing in the Disciplines; Assistant Professor of Writing and History
Ames 208 | (202) 242-5171 | gomantler@gwu.edu

Robin Marcus
Teaching Instructor
Ames 208 | 202-242-5192 | marcusra@gwu.edu

Jessica McCaughey
Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 226 | 202-242-5176 | jessmcc@gwu.edu

Mark Mullen
Associate Professor of Writing
Ames 229 | 202-242-6702 | ishmael@gwu.edu

Danika Myers
Director, First-Year Writing; Teaching Instructor
Ames 215 | 202-242-5273 | dpm728@gwu.edu

Rachel Pollack
Adjunct Instructor of Writing
Ames 226 | 202-242-5176 | rpollack@gwu.edu

Pam Presser
Teaching Assistant Professor
Ames 225 | 202-242-5169 | ppresser@gwu.edu

Rachel Riedner
Executive Director, University Writing Program; Associate Professor of Writing and Women's Studies 
Ames 214 | 202-242-5156 | rach@gwu.edu

Matt Riley
Teaching Instructor
Ames 204 | 202-242-6684 | mriley1@gwu.edu

Phyllis Ryder
Director, University Writing Center; Associate Professor of Writing 
Ames 230 | 202-242-6667 | pryder@gwu.edu

Steve Salchak
Assistant Professor of Writing 
MVC ACAD 206 | 202-242-6724 | ssalchak@gwu.edu

Heather Schell
Assistant Professor of Writing 
Ames 221 | 202-242-5120 | schellhm@gwu.edu

Caroline Smith
Assistant Professor of Writing 
Ames 220 | 202-242-6591 | cjsmith7@gwu.edu 

Michael Svoboda
Assistant Professor of Writing 
Ames 210 | 202-242-6595 | msvoboda@gwu.edu

Niles Tomlinson
Adjunct Professor of Writing
Ames 217| 202-242-5174 | nilest@gwu.edu

Phillip Troutman
Deputy Director, Writing in the Disciplines; Assistant Professor of Writing
Ames 237 | 202-242-6794 | trout@gwu.edu

Abby Wilkerson
Associate Professor of Writing 
Ames 203 | 202-242-5282 | alw@gwu.edu

Zachary Wolfe
Director, First Year Writing; Assistant Professor of Writing 
Ames 218 | 202-242-5130 | zwolfe@gwu.edu

Christy Zink
Assistant Professor of Writing 
Ames 233 | 202-242-5279 | czink@gwu.edu

Back to Top


Partner Librarians

Debbie Bezanson
Senior Research Librarian
Gelman Library 709G | 202- 994-6924 | bezanson@gwu.edu

Ann Brown
Instruction/Reference Librarian
Gelman Library 303 | 202-994-1351 | agbrown@gwu.edu

Peter Cohn
Research Services Coordinator
Gelman Library 303 | 202-994-9241 | pcohn@gwu.edu

Zach Elder 
Interim Director of Eckles Library
Eckles Library | 202-242-6621 | elder@gwu.edu

Shira Eller
Art and Design Librarian
Gelman Library 303 | 202-994-4845 | sfl@gwu.edu

David Ettinger
Reference/Instruction Librarian
Gelman Library 303 | 202-994-1355 | dettingr@gwu.edu

Bill Gillis
Research Services Coordinator
Gelman Library 303 | 202-994-7513 | gillis@gwu.edu

Mandy Gooch 
Data Services Librarian
Gelman Library 303 | 202-994-2435 | agooch@gwu.edu

Tolonda Henderson
Instruction/Reference Librarian
Gelman Library 303 | 202-994-4758 | tolonda@gwu.edu

Joscelyn Leventhal
Online Education and Off-Campus Services Librarian
Gelman Library 303 | 202-994-5680 | leventhal@gwu.edu

Tina Plottel
Instruction/Reference Librarian
Gelman Library 303 | 202-994-2294 | plottel@gwu.edu

Leah Richardson
Public Services/Instruction Librarian
Gelman Library Special Collections Research Center | 202-994-3263 | leahr@gwu.edu

Dolsy Smith
Collections Strategist & Humanities Librarian
Gelman Library 551 | 202-994-7550 | dsmith@gwu.edu

Morgan Stoddard
Research Services Coordinator
Gelman Library 303 | 202-994-7566 | mstoddard@gwu.edu

Back to Top


Writing in the Disciplines Faculty

Karen Ahlquist | Music | ahlquist@gwu.edu 
Maria Zulima Alvarez-Menendez | Romance Lang. and Lit. | zulimaa@gwu.edu 
Elizabeth Anker | American Studies | anker@gwu.edu
John Artz | Info Systems & TM | jartz@gwu.edu 
Steven Balla | Political Science | sballa@gwu.edu
Myron Belkind | Media and Public Affairs | mbelkind@gwu.edu 
Robert Betz | Political Science | rbetz@robertbetz.com
Kamal Beyoghlow | International Affairs | beyokam@gwu.edu 
Neal Bowes | Exercise Science | ngbowes@gwu.edu
Rebecca Boylan | Honors | rwboylan@gwu.edu
Jeffrey Brand-Ballard | Philosophy | jbb@gwu.edu
Jocelyne Brant | Romance Languages and Literature | brant@gwu.edu 
Alison Brooks | Anthropology | abrooks@gwu.edu
Shelley Brundage | Speech & Hearing | brundage@gwu.edu
Geoffrey Carter | English | gcarter@gwu.edu 
Catherine Chandler | Honors Program | cbrady@gwu.edu
Leah Chang | Romance Languages & Literature | lchang@gwu.edu
Edward Cherian | Info Systems and Tech Mgt | cherian@gwu.edu 
Michele Clark | IAFF | maclark@gwu.edu
Jeffrey Cohen | English | jjcohen@gwu.edu
Robert Combs | English | bcombs@gwu.edu
Ingrid Creppell | Political Science | creppell@gwu.edu
Kavita Daiya | English | kdaiya@gwu.edu 
Robert Dove | Political Science | bdove@gwu.edu 
Michael Doyle | Media & Public Affairs | mcdoyle@gwu.edu 
Joseph Dymond | Geography | jdymond@gwu.edu
Daina Eglitis | Sociology | dainas@gwu.edu
Nancy Evans | Interior Design | ntevans@gwu.edu
Elizabeth Fisher | Classics & Semitics | eaf@gwu.edu
Michael Freedman | Media & Public Affairs | mfr@gwu.edu
Molly Frost | Chinese | msf@gwu.edu
Roy Grinker | Anthropology | rgrink@gwu.edu
Lori Gronich | ESIA | gronich@gwu.edu
Thomas Guglielmo | American Studies | tgugliel@gwu.edu
Alexa Hampel | Communication | ahampel@gwu.edu
Adrienne Hancock | Speech & Hearing | hancock@gwu.edu
Mark Hannan | Business | mhannan@gwu.edu
Colin Helmer | IAFF | chelmer@gwu.edu
James Hershberg | History | jhershberg@gwu.edu
Susan Johnston | Anthropology | sjohnsto@gwu.edu
Frederick Joutz | Economics | bmark@gwu.edu 
Alvin Kaltman | Political Science | kaltman@gwu.edu
Steven Keller | School of Media & Public Affairs | skeller@gwu.edu 
Steven Kelts | Political Science | kelts@gwu.edu
Charles Kiamie | IAFF | ckiamie@gwu.edu
Jisoo Kim | History | Jsk10@gwu.edu
Michael King | Chemistry | kingm@gwu.edu
Christopher Klemek | History | klemek@gwu.edu 
Can Korman | ECE | korman@gwu.edu
Joshua Landon | Decision Science | jlandon@gwu.edu 
Yajie Lei | Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering | yajielei@gwmail.gwu.edu
Yongsheng Leng | Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering | leng@gwu.edu
Tianshu Li | Civil and Environmental Engineering | tsli@gwu.edu
Laurence Lipman | School of Media & Public Affairs | lmlipman@gwu.edu 
David McAleavey | English | dmca@gwu.edu 
Melanie McAlister | Middle East Studies | mmc@gwu.edu
Michael McGough | School of Media & Public Affairs | mmcgough@gwu.edu
Thomas McNamara | ESIA | ambmcn@gmail.com
Henry Merchant | Biology | hmerchnt@gwu.edu
Suzanne Miller | History | Smmiller@gwu.edu
Eugene Montague | Music | Eugene_m@gwu.edu
Kim Moreland | English | moreland@gwu.edu 
David Morris | Math | morrisd@gwu.edu 
Michael Moses | Computer Science | moses@gwu.edu
Teresa Murphy | American Studies | tmurphy@gwu.edu
Catherine Osborne | Spanish | cosborne@gwu.edu 
Gabriel Parmer | Computer Science | gparmer@gwu.edu
Elaine Pena | American Studies | eapena@gwu.edu
John Philbeck | Psychology | philbeck@gwu.edu
Marie Price | Geography | mprice@gwu.edu
Bernard Reich | Political Science | wreich@gwu.edu 
Nelda Richards | Speech & Hearing Science | nsr@gwu.edu 
Lilien Robinson | Art/Art History | lfr@gwu.edu 
Marjorie Romines | English | annrom@gwu.edu 
Roxanne Russell | Media & Public Affairs | rrussell@gwu.edu 
Mitsuyo Sato | East Asian Lang & Lit | satom@gwu.edu 
Dennis Schell | Psychology | dschell@gwu.edu 
Evelyn Schreiber | English | eschreib@gwu.edu 
Ormond Seavey | English | ocv@gwu.edu 
Warren Sharp | Business | wsharp@gwu.edu
Rebecca Sher | School of Media & Public Affairs | bsher@gwu.edu
David Shinn | International Affairs | dhshinn@gwu.edu
Michael Sigrist | Philosophy | msigrist@gwu.edu
Margret Soltan | English | Msoltan@gwu.edu
Christopher Sten | English | csten@gwu.edu 
Vincent Stine | Political Science | vstine@gwu.edu 
Igor Strakovsky | Physics | igor@gwu.edu
Richard Thornton | History | rthornto@gwu.edu 
David Throup | Political Science | dwthroup@gwu.edu 
Robert Trost | Economics | trost@gwu.edu 
Cheryl Vann | Honors | heloise@gwu.edu
Amanda Visek | Exercise Science | avisek@gwu.edu
Paul Wahlbeck | Political Science | wahlbeck@gwu.edu
Ronald Weitzer | Sociology | weitzer@gwu.edu
Sarah Wilensky | Health Policy | wilensky@gwu.edu
Nan Zhang | CSCI | nzhang10@gwu.edu
Michael Zuckerman | School of Media & Public Affairs | michaelz@gwu.edu 

Back to Top